The Government of Ladonia

The Government of Ladonia consists of the Queen, the Prime Minister, the State Secretary, and the Cabinet of Ministers.

Prior to 2019, there was an elected President and Vice President who held 3 year terms. In November 2019, the Cabinet modified the Constitution and changed the Head of State from a President to a Prime Minister who is elected from within the existing Cabinet of Ministers. The first Prime Minister elected is Frans Brood, Minister of Improvisational Theatre. He was installed in March of 2020.

The State Secretary position is currently held by Lars Vilks, and the position will not be open for election until he decides he no longer wants to be the State Secretary.

The Cabinet Ministers are responsible for proposing, debating, and voting on various acts and laws.

Government Structure

Type: Republican democracy under a constitutional monarch.
Independence: 2 June 1996
Constitution: 1997

Suffrage: All citizens.
Political subdivisions: Four classes of citizenship: Nobilities, Common Citizens, Citizens of Honour, Spirituals.